Vision: Noxious weeds are managed and/or controlled cooperatively throughout the San Luis Valley Management Area regardless of geographic or political boundaries to promote ecological and economic values.


Mission: The San Luis Valley Weed Management Association is a public and private partnership created to promote awareness and management of noxious weeds through local and regional initiatives in the SLV area.


History: In response to the Colorado Weed Management Act: C.R.S. Title 35, Article 5.5, the San Luis Valley Weed Management Association (SLVWMA) was formed to manage noxious weeds in the San Luis Valley. The San Luis Valley is the highest alpine valley in the world, covers six counties, and its two primary economic drivers are agriculture and natural resource management including federal lands. While the SLVWMA has been in operation since 2002, the group received its 501©(3) non-profit designation in December 2013, but worked with two established natural resource non-profits – Resource, Conservation and Development (RC&D) and Rio Grande Watershed Conservation and Education Initiative (RGWCEI).


Goals of the San Luis Valley Weed Management Association are based on the belief that Prevention, Early Detection Rapid Response (EDRR) and early treatment are the most cost effective means for weed control, and are the ideal for preserving agricultural production, recreational open space, and natural resources and the environment. With that in mind, the SLVWMA’s goals are to:

  1. Strive to identify and contain, reduce, or eradicate current weed infestations and reduce or eliminate weed seed production in certain species;
  2. Monitor for new infestations and new invasive species to prevent new encroachments on unincorporated lands in the counties;
  3. Help develop and implement Integrated Weed Management Plans for noxious weeds on county-owned properties, easements, rights-of-ways, and all other properties;
  4. Protect agricultural production, native plant ecosystems, watersheds, and recreational lands from degradation from noxious weeds by enforcing the Noxious Weed Act and working through cooperative agreements with city, state and federal agencies and adjacent counties and states;
  5. Preserve the quality of life in urban and rural areas of the SLV Noxious Weed Management Area through desirable plant stewardship and noxious weed management to enhance human health aspects, land values and esthetics;
  6. Provide technical support and recommendations for noxious weed management and work with landowners, counties, including state and federal agencies, to develop their Integrated Weed Management Plans; and,
  7. Educate citizens on the impact of noxious weeds on the economy and the environment and provide information on Best Management Practices for noxious weeds.


Participation: The San Luis Valley Weed Management Association (SLVWMA) shall consist of valley-wide partners and have a formal committee of not less than 10 members and not more than 20 members. The committee shall have a Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson and Secretary. The committee shall meet monthly and no less than quarterly to facilitate the San Luis Valley Noxious Weed Management Plan. Members of the committee will have to be active members to participate on the committee. More than 3 absences without an excuse will be reason for replacement on the committee. 

Main partners of the SLV Weed Management Association are:
the Monte Vista and Alamosa National Wildlife Refuges, Rio Grande County Pest District, San Luis Valley GIS/GPS Authority and Integrated Land Services, Inc., Conejos County Weed District, Colorado Department of Transportation, Center Conservation District, Costilla Conservation District, Mosca-Hooper Conservation District, the Natural Resources Conservation Service, Integrated Land Services, San Luis Valley Regional Landfill, Bureau of Land Management, Parks and Wildlife, San Luis Valley Water Conservancy District, ditch companies, Rio Grande National Forest, and many others.
Our coordinated efforts make weed management more effective, cost efficient, and successful.


Mapping Committee:    

Chair: Lucas Casias –

Brianna Brannan –

Weed ID Committee:  

 Chair : Danny Neufeld –

Lucas Casias-

Suzanne Beauchaine-

Nikki Frederick-

Education Committee:

 Chair: Marvin Reynolds

Cary Aloya

Myron Price

Financial Committee:

 Includes the Executive Board

Conejos County Weed Control District